Magic Choral Trick #16 Heading off a Cold

One of the miserable things that can get in the way of singing your best is a cold. It’s no fun for you – or for the people around you.

I thought this might be a good time to mention these because at this time of year we have perfect storm conditions. Tons of concerts and social events – so tired throats and large gatherings of people. Add to this the colder, darker, changing weather and the new crop of winter viruses.

I have discovered some products that are definitely more magical than others – so I keep them all handy, and generally even have them in my purse when I’m out.

Cold FX – a ginseng extract, made right here in Canada. The company seems to be
located in Alberta. This one is the singers’ #1 remedy when you feel the
first scratchiness and soreness. I actually take this every day from September
till about May.

Vitamin D – Of course. Again – works best when I take it every day

Redoxon – the drop into water, 1000 mg Vitamin C tablet that fizzes up and tastes like
Orange pop. I have no clue why this seems to work better than regular
Vitamin C powder or caplets

OregaFlu – by Pur-le Natural. Powdered Oil of Wild Oregano

Zinc Lozenges – Really effective if you pop one into your mouth as soon as you even
Think ‘Hmmm. Is that the beginning of a sore throat?’

(Please note that I am not a medical professional and am not prescribing these for anyone. I just want you to know what has worked for me)

About janetkidd

I've been waving my arms in front of choirs now for more than 35 years - and these are descriptions of all the very best things I've learned. I direct a Women's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Men's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Med School choir, and for a few weeks each year - Big Choir (about 100 voices) - which performs at an annual fundraising concert. Hope at least some of these Choral Magic Tricks will be useful to you - and thanks for reading. Janet

Posted on December 3, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. LOVING THE BLOGS JANET! Here’s a cold/sore throat remedy that my dear daughters told me about (yes, daughters love to “tell Mum”!!) At the first feeling of the scratchy throat, I squeeze one or two drops of Oil of Oregano right at the back of my throat. The bottle says mix in water but I’m pretty brave, so I ‘take it straight’. Have a glass of water handy if it burns too much! You’ll smell like a pizza for a little while, but that nasty sore throat will vanish!

Leave a Reply

