Magic Choral Trick #22 Using Your New Korg Tuner at Home

If you’re anything like me – this first step will be the most unpleasant. You may have to read the directions that come with the tuner.

Once you’ve figured out the basic operation though, you can start to play with it right away.

Pick a note, any note, (the name of the pitch you’re singing will appear up in the right hand corner of the screen – not that which note it is matters right now) and sustain it for as long as you can – seeing how much of the time you can keep the green light even flickering. The red ‘sharp’ light, or the red ‘flat’ light may be going crazy – but don’t judge yourself too harshly – it’ll take some practice.

Start by using just the formed vowels. Try sustaining a note on ‘oo’ first. I find that of the five formed vowels, ‘oo’ seems easier to control pitch wise. You may find that making sure that the back teeth are apart makes quite a difference in your ability to control variations in pitch.

An added bonus of doing this is the amount of oxygen you’re going to be processing. Most people want to try singing the note as long as possible so they have more time to adjust it, and make the little green light come on. So you may find that this also helps with breath control.

I’ll give everyone a couple of weeks to master this – then I’ll get back to you with more Korg exercises.

I’ve been conscious of singing in tune for about 51 years now, and spent a big chunk of my career as a professional singer – and even I find it tricky. However, when my son unpacked and started to play on his first DS he had very few gaming skills. Apparently he’s “awesome” now. The Korg tuner is sort of like a DS for singers – but with some wonderful results in the real world.

About janetkidd

I've been waving my arms in front of choirs now for more than 35 years - and these are descriptions of all the very best things I've learned. I direct a Women's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Men's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Med School choir, and for a few weeks each year - Big Choir (about 100 voices) - which performs at an annual fundraising concert. Hope at least some of these Choral Magic Tricks will be useful to you - and thanks for reading. Janet

Posted on December 9, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks Janet. I have been singing flat for about 42 years (the first 13 I was not in choirs.) Perhaps this will help me to be more aware of the pitch and then ways to correct it. The Korg tuner just became my Christmas list. Liz

  2. (oops that would be nearly 44 years)

  3. DaTuner app for Android works well too and it’s free. Needed to turn down the sensitivity to get best results.

    • Thanks Rob – I had actually meant to mention this. I used to use an online version – along with my $3.00 Dollar Store mic – and it worked very well.

      There are various online versions which are terrific for people with phones that have free internet access in wireless areas – or for people whose home computers are in private places.

      The actual physical tuner is great to have in hand at rehearsals though. It also does something amazing to chorus morale and level of committment to improving when everyone goes out and buys one.

Leave a Reply

