Magic Choral Trick #129 Enough Time

When students, choir members or other directors are explaining to me why they aren’t getting the results they wanted most tell me that they didn’t have enough time.

When this comes from the mouths of six year olds to whom I’ve assigned about 6 minutes of daily practice it becomes obvious that what’s lacking is not the time, but the daily consciousness of needing to practice. They need to be reminded that doing the 6 minutes will make them feel much better about themselves when it comes time for their next lesson. The little practice chart that they check off is definitely helping – but for those of us who spend any time at a computer, a little online accountability might be just what we need.

When my daughter told me about http://www.dailytodo.org I was intrigued.

You create your own list of daily tasks. You then click the appropriate box when you’ve finished the task, and a green dot appears. If you don’t get around to an item, it’s a red dot that’ll show up – which will plague and taunt you for several days.

I wonder if the creator of this little website is aware of the difference he or she is making in the lives of my kids, and my nieces and nephews.

If you are a director and sometimes say to yourself “I wish I had planned exactly what I was going to do with this piece”; or if you’re a Barbershop chorus member and don’t want to be unprepared for the competition stage – this website http://www.dailytodo.org is for you. This website is for anyone who wants to feel good about what they’ve accomplished by the end of the day.

Right now my list looks like this:

30 minutes of exercise
Work on Blog
Planning/working on stuff for choirs and students
Clean an area of the house other than kitchen or main room

Having accomplished just these few things each day makes my life more fun, and actually takes up much less time than thinking about, then not doing them.

About janetkidd

I've been waving my arms in front of choirs now for more than 35 years - and these are descriptions of all the very best things I've learned. I direct a Women's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Men's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Med School choir, and for a few weeks each year - Big Choir (about 100 voices) - which performs at an annual fundraising concert. Hope at least some of these Choral Magic Tricks will be useful to you - and thanks for reading. Janet

Posted on May 2, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi there,
    You may be interested in an informal project I ran last summer on the effectiveness of 5 minutes practice per day – it’s introduced here: http://www.helpingyouharmonise.com/5-30 and there are links from there to the results. As you note, the obstacle isn’t time, per se – but I came to think as a result of this project the word ‘only’ underplays the cognitive commitment required for regular attention. It’s a less trivial demand than the time-span suggests – which is part of what makes even short periods of regular work so valuable!

    liz

Leave a Reply

