Magic Choral Trick #344 Formed Vowel Hand Movements

These hand movements train us to focus on clean formed vowels, and help to ingrain them in the body, so that these unified vowels become a habit.

The formed vowels are ‘ee’, ‘ay’, ‘ah, ‘oh’ and ‘oo’, and these are the hand signs that I use.

There’s something about the isometric nature of the pull or push in each one that creates a taller, richer, more unified sound.

And as a director, I find it really useful to be able to use these signals to remind choruses to lock in to a vowel. When my singers have rehearsed these movements, they already know what this sound/movement combination feels like – and can reproduce it when they see me giving them the cues.

Here’s the video I’ve just made so that you can see the hand movements I use… (So new at this that I have yet to figure out why sometimes the first few seconds of sound have no accompanying video. Just hang in there, and the video does appear)

http://youtu.be/Q5rKkVGPl6c

About janetkidd

I've been waving my arms in front of choirs now for more than 35 years - and these are descriptions of all the very best things I've learned. I direct a Women's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Men's Competitive Barbershop Chorus, a Med School choir, and for a few weeks each year - Big Choir (about 100 voices) - which performs at an annual fundraising concert. Hope at least some of these Choral Magic Tricks will be useful to you - and thanks for reading. Janet

Posted on July 22, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

